Municipality of Kitcharao was created under Republic Act No. 3842 sponsored by Congressman Guillermo R. Sanchez. It was once a barrio of Jabonga. Through the initiative of the then Vice Mayor Francisco M. Tuozo of Jabonga, a resolution was sponsored petitioning Congress for the creation of the Municipality of Kitcharao. Thus Republic Act No. 3842 was passed.

The inhabitants of the municipality came from various regions in Luzon and the Visayas, hence, you can find Ilocanos, Tagalogs, Leyteños, Ilongos, Warays, Cebuanos, Boholanos, and a few aborigines called Mamanwas or Kongkings.

On August 29, 1963, the first Municipal Officials were inducted to the office by then Governor Democrito O. Plaza. Felix Q. Basadre, Sr. was the appointed Mayor, Marceliano Morada as Vice Mayor and all the councillors were: Mariano M. Napalan, Sr., Gaudencio Pojas, Pencionico Bermudez, Juan Tidalgo, Agustin Patagan and Uldarico Atuel.

The same set of Municipal Officials was elected in the ensuing regular election on November 1963.